8 States Refuse To Allocate Land For Buhari’s Housing Project


Efforts by the Federal Government to bridge the nation’s housing deficit of 17 million units through pragmatic approach to build 40,000 units across the 36 states in 2016 may not go as planned, New Telegraph has learnt.

Already, there are indications that eight states may have refused to make the required land available for possible construction of the dwelling units, which designs had already been approved by the Federal Government.

These states, according to a source, included

1. Benue

2. Niger

3. Taraba

4. Rivers

5. Akwa Ibom

6. Enugu

7. Lagos

8. Adamawa

and the FCT.

Refusal by these states, the source told New Telegraph, was hinged on new plan by the Federal Government to request for land for the provision of no fewer than 40 universities and teaching hospitals nationwide with constant power supply.

Sources close to the Ministry of Power, Works and Housing said that the project is a priority programme of the Buhari administration, with details already worked out for immediate implementation.

Said the sources : “The document listed eight states yet to respond to the Federal Government’s request for the provision of land for the building of the houses to include Benue, Niger, Taraba, Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Enugu, Lagos, Adamawa and the FCT.” Speaking with New Telegraph by phone, Special Adviser to the Minister on Communication, Mr. Hakeem Bello, denied the claim, saying that it was not true.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *