, , ,

Barewa College: The Great Nigerian School That Produced 5 Presidents, Over 20 Governors and Ministers

Ever wondered the secondary school some of Nigeria’s military/democratic presidents attended? Barewa College in Zaria, Kaduna State has become a household name in the Nigerian educational system with a high record of old students who have held and many still holding key leadership positions in Nigeria.
A collage of pictures of some of the Nigerian leaders
The school was founded in 1921 by British Governor General, Hugh Clifford. Barewa College was originally known as Katsina College. The name was changed to Kaduna College in 1938 and then Government College, Zaria in 1949 before its current name Barewa College.
Below are a list of former Nigerian presidents, ministers, governors who attended the prestigious college at one time or another:
1.) Alh. Ahmadu Bello, Premier of Northern Nigeria from 1954 to 1966
2.) Alh. Abubakar Tafawa-Balewa, Prime Minister of Nigeria from 1960 to 1961
3.) Gen. Murtala Mohammed, Military President from 1975 to 1976
4.) Gen. Yakubu Gowon(retd.), Military President from 1966 to 1975
5.)  Alh. Shehu Shagari, President of Nigeria from 1979 to 1983
6.) Alh. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, President of Nigeria from 2007 to 2010
7.) Mallam Adamu Ciroma , 3-time Minister (Industries; Agriculture; and Finance)
8.) Prof. Jubril Aminu – 2-time Minister (Education; Petroleum and Mineral Resources)
9.) Alh. Umaru Dikko – Minister of Transportation
11.) Alh. Ibrahim Mahmud Alfa, Ex-Governor of Kaduna State
12.) Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, Governor of Kaduna State
13.) Dr. Orji Uzor-Kalu, Ex-Governor of Abia State
14.) Alhaji Mohammed Bello – (current) Minister of FCT
15.) Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazzau(retd.) – (current) Minister of Interior
16.) Air Commodore Ibrahim Alkali(retd.) – Ex-Military Governor of Kwara State
17.) Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi – Ex-Minister of Education18.) Hon. Justice Idris Legbo Kutigi – Former Chief Justice of Nigeria(CJN)

19.) Hon. Justice Uwais – Former Chief Justice of Nigeria

20.) Hon. Justice Mohammed Bello, Former Chief Justice of Nigeria


One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *