in ,

10 Manuscripts on Longlist for 2018 Quramo Writers’ Prize

The top 10 entries for the 2018 Quramo Writers’ Prize have been unveiled.

The annual prize, which is awarded to an unpublished fiction manuscript, is in its second year. In 2017, Samuel Monye emerged the winner for his manuscript, ‘Give Us Each Day’.

Aduke Gomez, head of a five-member jury, said: “We received over 480 entries this year. The manuscripts addressed a wide range of issues and were realized in varying styles and perspectives.

“What was obvious is that there is a significant talent pool of writers in Nigeria, and our literature is well and alive and thriving.


“My co-judges and I are happy to have found 10 manuscripts worthy of consideration for the award of the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2018.”

The top 10 entries are Achalugo Ezekobe, Boys on Jumping Trousers; Ani Obiamaka Splendour, The Girl Who Saw Tomorrow; Chioma Mildred Okonkwo, All That Glitters; Elohor Turtoe, Fort Conquer; Emmanuel Michael, Running Waters.

Others are Harry Nzube Nlebedim, A Cry Within; Jesutofunmi Emma Fekoya, Mirror On the Wall; Oriasotie Emmanuel Ehimare, When Yesterday Saved Tomorrow; Richard Onuegbe Oti, From Mbaise With Love and Wayne Adewale Samuel, Third World Wars Alpha.

Speaking on the short list, Gbemi Shasore, executive publisher of Quramo Publishing, said: “We are excited as we anticipate the crowning of a new winner.

“Samuel Monye’s debut is a wonderful novel, and we hope that our judges will pick for us an equally amazing story to delight our readers. I can’t wait to see who wins.”

A short list of the top five will be announced on October 10 while the award ceremony is scheduled for October 21.


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

14 − 8 =

In Photos: Legendary Kanu Nwankwo, Wife and Children as They Step Out Together Rocking Customized Tops

Nigeria’s Certificate Scandals By Reuben Abati