List of States Still Owing Workers Salary Despite Approval of Bailout Funds

inec nigeria

According to a recent survey by the News Agency of Nigeria, some Nigerian states are still defaulting in their financial obligations to their workers in spite of the bailout funds (N338 billion to 27 states) by the Federal Government to assist them to pay outstanding salaries and allowances.

The states mentioned are:

1. Oyo State Government is owing two months salaries. The government said it spent the N26.6 billion it got as bailout to clear a backlog of four months’ salaries.

2. The Osun Government, received N34.8 billion bailout but still owes about four months salaries.

3. Cross River state. The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in Cross River said that the Cross River Government still owed gratuities of some retired members

4. The Ondo State Government said that it had only paid salaries and bonuses of its workers up to October.

5. Ekiti State. Gov. Ayo Fayose said the state only got N9.6 billion out of the over N29 billion it initially applied for. “From what we got, we have been able to pay outstanding 2014 salary and 2014 leave bonus, leaving out only pension and gratuities which were not captured in the initial bailout sum that we got. “We have also paid September and October 2015 salaries as well as Christmas bonus to workers,’’ he said.

6. Bayelsa state. Workers in local governments in Bayelsa State said that payment of their salaries was not up to date.

7. The Kano State government said it had not used the N20 billion bailout funds for the payment of pension arrears and salaries of newly-recruited health workers.

8. Kebbi state

9. Kwara state

10. Katsina state

11. Sokoto state

See How Nigerians Reacted to President Buhari’s Media Chat


Nigeria Wins Bid to Provide Communications Satellite Technology to Belarus for 15years