Anambra wins 55th independence anniversary debate competition


Anambra State has emerged winner of the 55th edition of the Independence Anniversary President’s Inter-SUBEB Debate Competition.

Fifteen states and the Police Secondary School participated in the contest which took place at the Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library in Abeokuta, Ogun State. They are Anambra, Imo, Kaduna, Zamfara, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Niger, Oyo, Ogun, Kwara, Benue, Kebbi, Ebonyi, Kastina and Plateau. Kaduna came second while Niger came third.

Ogun State government sponsored the four-day event which featured preliminary, second, quarter-final, semi-final and final stages.

While addressing the debaters and the panel of judges, National Co-coordinator of the President’s Schools Debate Competition, Elder Dare Oritu, urged the students to be confident while presenting their arguments, respect the rules of the competition and accept the verdict of the judges in good faith. “The whole idea of the debate competition is to teach the secondary school students, who are the debaters, the importance of effectual communication as it has become clear that good communication skills can enhance leadership abilities,” he explained. Oritu enjoined the judges to be impartial and to give equal opportunities to the debaters.

Deputy Governor of Ogun State, Mrs. Yetunde Onanuga represented Governor Ibikunle Amosun while Dr. Ayo Tella represented Prof. Peter Okebukola, Director of the Department of Human Security, Obasanjo Presidential Library.

A delegate from Anambra State, Amaka Nwachukwu, composed a new anthem for the contest and co-ordinated its practice with the team leaders of each state who mastered and beautifully rendered it to the delight of the audience.

The final dinner at the end of the competition was hosted by former President Obasanjo at the Liberty Hotel, Abeokuta. The Advisory Board members, Prof. Jerry Agada, Prof. Gidacho Tahir and Dame Pauline Tallen, Onanuga and former Kano State governor, Rabiu Musa Kwankanso attended the dinner.

Four governors were given awards for meritorious service and contribution to educational development. They are Willie Obiano of Anambra State, Isiaka Ajimobi of Oyo State, El-Rufai of Kaduna State and Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State.

Dancers in performance at Bongo music festival

Bongo festival to the rescue of Igbo culture


5 Tips How to Save Money This Christmas