in , ,

Davido, Mai Atafo, Mo Abudu Nominated For 2018 IARA Awards…SEE Full List

The International Achievement Recognition Awards (IARA) has released its nominee list for the 2018 award ceremony.

This year’s nominees include leading Nigerians in their various fields.

Davido and Peter Okoye have both secured two nominations in the ‘best male artist’ and ‘best international male artist’ categories.

Simi, Nigerian singer-songwriter, also snagged two nominations in the ‘best female artist’ and ‘best young female artist’ categories.

Nigerian-born John Boyega received a nod in the ‘best actor’ and ‘best young actor’ categories for his work in ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’.

Joselyn Dumas and Omotola Jalade are up for the ‘best international actress’ award and Kenneth Okolie is up for the ‘best international actor’ award.

Mai Atafo is nominated in the ‘best male fashion designer’ category and Toyin Lawani in the ‘best female fashion designer’ category, Stephanie Coker in the ‘best female TV presenter’ category, and Mo Abudu in the ‘best media personality’ category.

See the full list below.

Best Actor

David Tennant (Don Juan in Soho)
John Boyega (Star Wars:The Last Jedi)
Chris Attoh (Swing)
Jack Perry Jones (Bang)
Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)
Vijay Joseph (Mersal)
Zack Morris (Eastenders)
Jamie Lomas (Hollyoaks)

Best Actress

Laura Donnelly (Ferryman)
Joselyn Dumas (Potato Potahto)
Jenna Coleman (Victoria)
Pearl Thusi (Quantico)
Tupelo Dorgu (Bread & Roses)
Hayley Tamaddon (Eaten by Lions)
Florence Pugh (Lady Macbeth)
Gemma Chan (Transformer:The Last Knight)

Best Young Actor

John Boyega (Star Wars;The Last Jedi)
Rupert Grint (Snatch)
Danny Miller (Emmerdale)
Alfred Enoch (How to get away with Murder)
Kevin Leslie (The Code)
Zack Morris (Eastenders)
Daniel Kaluuya (Black Panther)
Rob Mallard (Coronation Street)

Best Young Actress

Nathalie Emmanuel (Fast & Furious 8)
Thuso Mbedu (Shuga)
Stefanie Martini (Prime Suspect)
Zynelluh Zuh (Deranged)
Regina Daniels (Land of Slaves)
Emily Irene VanCamp (The Resident)
Sophie Austin (Moving On)
Kate Davies Speak (Knights of the Damned)

Best Male Artist

Louis Tomilinson
Michael Dappah
Peter Okoye Mr P
Bread Boi
Ihab Amir
Sheku Kanneh-Mason
George Ezra

Best Female Artist

Jorja Smith
Tallia Storm
Souhila Ben Lachhab
Stefflon Don
Natasha Beddingfield
Jessie J
Anne Marie

Best Young Male Artist

Billy Lockett
Donel Mangena
B Young
Michael Dapaah
Lewis Capaldi
Russell Jones
Isaiah Dreads
Dan Owen

Best Young Female Artist

Louisa Johnson
Carly Paoli
Haidy Moussa
Lucy Kane
Dione Broomfield
Be Charlotte
Rina Sawayama

Best Male Fashion Designer


David Koma
Mai Atafo
Mark Powell
Gert Johan Coetzee
Leo Almodal
Oswald Boateng

Best Female Fashion Designer

Alice Temperley
Toyin Lawani
Bassma Boussel
Sima Brew
Paula Knorr
Mary Katrantzou

Best International Female Artist

Justine Skype
Souhila Ben Lachhab
Salma Rachid
Angeline Quinto

Best International Male Artist

Mohamed Abbas
La Fouine
Diamond Platnumz
Peter Okoye Mr P
Black Coffee
Cassper Nyovest

Best African Music Artist

Nasty C
Lay Lizzy
Nsoki Neto

Best Emerging Actor

Ned Porteous (Emerdale)
Kevin Leslie (The Code)
Tom Socks (Giantsland)
Josh Wichard – (The Case Of The Frightened Lady)
Tom Holland (Spider Man Homecoming)
Lloyds Everitt (Sugar)
Anthonio Aakeel (Eaten by Lions)
Reis Bruce (Doctors)

Best Emerging Actress

Mandip Gill (Love, Lies & Record)
Ionica Adriana (Aladdin)
Molly Windsor (Threegirls)
Lucie Shorthouse(Everybody’s Talking About Jamie)
Anna Shaffer (Hollyoaks)
Simona Brown (Kiss Me First)
Lara Goddison (Random Acts; When Voices Unites)
Daisy May Head (Gilfriends)

Best International Actress

Joselyn Dumas (Potato Potahto)
Amel Bouchoucha (Ahl Al Gharam)
Omotola Jalade (Alter Ego)
Pearl Thusi (Quantico)
Wema Sepetu (Heaven Sent)
Tatiana Maslany (Drunk History)

Best International Actor

Joshua Jackson (Children of a Lesser God)
Kenneth Okolie (The Royal Hibiscus Hotel)
Vjay Joseph (Mersal)
Adjetey Anang (Side Chick Gang)
Khumbulani Kay Sabiya (Agent)
Taim Hasan (El Heba El Awda)

Best Male TV Presenter

Reggie Yates
Craige Wilde
Matt Johnson
Andi Peters
Map Maponyane
Gethin Jones

Best Female TV Presenter

Ferne Mccann
Bonang Matheba
Francesca Chillemi
Stephanie Coker
Lisa Cannon
Scarlette Moffatt

Best Male Stage Performer

John McCrea (Everybody’s Talking About Jamie)
Simon Anthony Rhoden (Kinky Boots)
Andrew Scott (Hamlet)
Jamael Westman (Hamilton)
Jay Perry (Motown)
Obioma Ugoala (Hamilton)

Best Female Stage Performer

Rachelle Ann (Hamilton)
Asmeret Ghebremichael (Dreamgirls)
Andrienne Warren (Tina Turner Musical)
Amy Lennox (Kinky Boots)
Kimmy Edwards (Dreamgirls)
Christine Allado (Hamilton)

Best Independent Magazine

1Granary Magazine
Dansk Magazine
Rion Magazine
Metal Magazine
Glitz Magazine
Flux Magazine
NMB Magazine
Fuse Magazine

Best Director

Armando Iannucci (The Death of Stalin)
Rungano Nyoni (I am a Witch)
William Oldroyd (Lady Macbeth)
Patrick Ryder (The Code)
Lynne Ramsey (You Were Never Really Here)
Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)
Sam Mendes (The Ferryman)
Haifaa Al – Masour (Mary Shelley)

Best Media Personality

Bear Cruylis
Mo Abudu
Bonang Matheba
Joey Essex
Alison Hammond
Joselyn Dumas
Amy Garcia
Hayley Tamaddon


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nine − 7 =

Former U.S President Obama Celebrates His First Birthday

Former US President, Obama recommends ‘Things Fall Apart’ and ‘Americanah’ for summer reading

This is How Your Favourite Female Celebrities Are Styling in the Red Colour