List of Dignitaries Invited for MKO Abiola June 12 Honour Party by Buhari

The Federal Government has named invited guests for the official recognition of June 12 as new Democracy Day, conferment of posthumous GCFR honour on MKO Abiola and GCON honours on Babagana Kingibe and Chief Gani Fawehinmi.

The list was announced in a statement released by the Office of the Secretary to the Federal Government, Mr Boss Mustapha.

The event set to hold on Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at Conference Hall, State House, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja at 10.00 am will feature the crème of the pro-democracy struggle during the 1990s.

The statement read, “Accordingly, Ambassador Babagana Kingibe, the family of the late Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola and that of Chief Gani Fawehinmi , along with the underlisted key players of June 12 struggle are cordially invited:

“Members of the National Executive Committee of the SDP including States Chairmen and Secretaries at the time of June 12, 1993
“Governors elected under SDP platform
“Former Senate Presidents – Iyorchia Ayu and Ameh Ebute and Speaker Agunwa Anekwe along with Principal Officers of the National Assembly elected under SDP platform

“Speakers of the States Assembly elected under SDP platform
“All Chairmen of the States Traditional Councils from the six South-Western States
“Prof. Wole Soyinka; Mr. Femi Falana, SAN, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu; Chief Bisi Akande; Ms. Ayo Obe; Bayo Onanuga – The News; Kunle Ajibade – Tempo; Nosa Igiebor – Tell; Kayode Komolafe – Media Hope 93; Senator Janathan Zwingina – DG Hope 93; Comrade Frank Ovie Kokori; Prof. Humphrey Nwosu
“Also invited are Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker Yakubu Dogora, Principal Officers of the National Assembly, Members of the Federal Executive Council and all State Governors.
“Accommodation has been reserved for all invitees at the NICON Luxury Hotel, Tafawa Balewa Way, area 11, Garki, Abuja from Monday, 11th June 2018. For further inquiries please contact William Alo, Permanent Secretary, Special Duties Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation by telephone on +234 803 585 4332.

“Invitation letters have been despatched. However, should the invitation arrive late, this publication serves as a formal invitation.”


Written by nigeriahow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Why Arresting Obasanjo Will Be End Of Buhari – Ex-Anambra Gov, Ezeife

How Having Tribal Marks Gave Me A Very Low Self-Esteem – Nigerian Actor, Afeez Owo