Meet Nigeria’s First Ladies Since 1999

The First Lady of Nigeria is the title of the wife of the President of Nigeria. The current First Lady is Aisha Muhammadu Buhari who has held the title since 29 May 2015.

The Constitution of Nigeria does not create an office for the country’s First Lady or potential First Gentleman. However, official funding and staff have been allocated to the First Lady of Nigeria since the country’s independence. The First Lady is addressed by the title, Her Excellency.

Stella Obasanjo is the only Nigerian First Lady to have died in office.

Aisha Buhari

Aisha Muhammadu Buhari (born 17 February 1971) is the wife of Muhammadu Buhari, the President of Nigeria, who assumed office on May 29, 2015 after defeating the then-incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan. She is a Cosmetologist and Beauty therapist

Patience Jonathan

Patience Jonathan
Patience Jonathan

Patience Faka Jonathan (born 25 October 1957) is a former First Lady of Nigeria and the wife of former President of Nigeria,Goodluck Jonathan. She has served as a permanent secretary in her native Bayelsa State


Turai Yar’Adua

Hajiya Turai Umar Musa iar’Adua (born July 1957) is the widow of former Nigerian President and former Katsina State GovernorUmaru Musa Yar’Adua. She served as the First Lady of Nigeria from 2007 until the death of her husband, President Yar’Adua, on May 5, 2010.

Late Stella Obasanjo

Stella Obasanjo (14 November 1945 – 23 October 2005) was the First Lady of Nigeria from 1999 until her death. She was the wife of former president Olusegun Obasanjo. She was not the First Lady in 1976, when Obasanjo was military head of state. She died while undergoing elective liposuction in an exclusive clinic in Spain.

Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

8 Surprising Health Benefits of Eating Seaweed

Meet Bruno Chigozie Opara, The Hottest and Most Handsome Nigerian Police Officer (Photos)