in ,

Nigeria’s Omolayo and Oluwafemiayo Break World Record at Nur-Sultan 2019 Para Powerlifting Championships

maxresdefault 2

Reigning Paralympic champion, Nigeria’s Bose Omolayo delivered an explosive performance as she broke the world record en route to taking the women’s up to 79kg gold on Day 5 of the ongoing Nur-Sultan 2019 World Para Powerlifting Championships in Kazakhstan, SportingLife reports.

Defending world champion and world record holder Xu Lili was on paper the strongest candidate for gold. However, the Nigerian successfully pushed a world record-breaking 142kg lift in her third attempt to claim her first Worlds title.

The Chinese finished in second after clearing the bar at ‘just’ 128kg. Indonesia’s Siti Mahmudah (118kg) sealed bronze.

“It wasn’t an easy competition. I was aiming to challenge Lili and the world title. So, once she failed in her second and then third round, I chose to go for word record. And it was all possible because of my faith in God and his miracles,” 41-year-old Omolayo said.

IMG 4665

Also, 2018 Fazza World Cup record holder, Folashade Oluwafemiayo emerged the strongest pushing 150kg to supass China’s Zheng Feifei and keep the world record and the gold medal to herself in the women’s up to 86kg.

Nigeria’s Olaitan Ibrahim (127kg) came second in the battle for the women’s up to 67kg title behind Paralympic champions Yujiao Tan of Egypt (137kg), with Fatma Omar also of Egypt just finishing in third position following a 121kg lift.

Nigeria is now second on the medals table with seven medals (3 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze) behind China on 15 medals (6 gold, 8 silver and 1 bronze). Iran is third with five medals (2 gold, 2 silver and 1 bronze).

A total of 441 athletes from 78 nations aim to win one of the 20 gold medals up for grabs.

The IPC Powerlifting World Championships, is an event organized by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC). Competitors with a physical disability compete, and in a few events athletes with an intellectual disability compete. First held in 1994, the competition is held every four years.

tade thompson rosewater 785 01

Nigerian Author, Tade Thompson Wins Most Prestigious Sci-fi Prize In UK

El Zakzaky

Why Buhari Won’t Ask Court To Free El-Zakzaky – Presidency