Obasanjo Bags TASUED’s Doctorate Degree In Political Science


As part of its 10th anniversary and 2015 Convocation ceremony, the Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED), Ijagun, will confer honourary Doctorate Degree in Political Science on former Nigerian President, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, GCFR..

Making this known during a courtesy visit by the members of the University’s Governing Council and management to Chief Olusegun Obasanjo at his Presidential Hilltop, Abeokuta, residence, was the Vice Chancellor of TASUED, Professor Oluyemisi Oluremi Obilade, who remarked that the award was a thank you gesture to the former President under whose tenure the University was licensed on November 28, 2005.

Prof. Obilade disclosed that the award of the honorary Doctorate Degree in Political Science to Chief Obasanjo was a unanimous decision of the TASUED’s Governing Council upon the overwhelming recommendation of the University Senate, to appreciate Chief Obasanjo for his unalloyed support to the University, contributions to the educational development of Nigeria and his selfless service to humanity as a whole.
Chief Obasanjo, while accepting the honour thanked the University for the recognition, noting that “TASUED has a glorious history of existence and I am happy to associate with the University”.

“I almost took a decision that I will not accept doctorate degrees from any University, but if I can take honorary degrees from Moscow and Beijing, then I can’t resist that of TASUED”, he added.

Chief Obasanjo further stated that having a specialised University of Education showed “how serious we are in this country, on the issue of education, especially when the University Education is located in Ogun State, which has the highest number of Universities in Nigeria.

“The man that the university is named after was a foremost educationist who gave his very best to education in Nigeria. I, therefore, congratulate TASUED, I plan to attend the convocation, but when I come to your University, I will walk around and see how far you have gone”, he further remarked.
Other dignitaries present during the visit include the Governing Council members Chief Derin Adebiyi, Dr. Mulikat Salau, and Comrade Tunde Oladunjoye, who is also the Chairman of the Media Sub-Committee for the 10th Anniversary; Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu; the Bursar, Mr. Ifeoluwa Odusanya, and Director of Protocol, Chief Gbenga Omilola, among others.

Source: Dailypost


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


5 best Indian restaurants on Lagos Island

6 Tips to dress right on a long flight