See The 6 Governors Buhari Named As National Food Security Council Members


President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday named the governors of Kebbi, Taraba, Plateau, Lagos, Ebonyi and Delta States as members of the National Food Security Council.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Malam Garba Shehu, diaclosed this in a statement.

Shehu said the council, to be chaired by the president, would be inaugurated on Monday.

He said Buhari approved the constitution of the council’s membership days after he announced the intention of the Federal Government to establish the council.

Other members are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; the Chief of Staff to the President, Abba Kyari; the National Security Adviser, Babagana Monguno and seven ministers.

The ministers are those of Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning.

Other members, the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Directors-General of the Department of State Services and the National Intelligence Agency as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

He listed the council’s broad objectives as including developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; climate change and desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta fishing communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

Shehu said the council would also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria.


Wizkid’s First Son, Bolutife Set To Launch Clothing Line

Chimamanda Adichie and Oprah Winfrey 1

Nigerian Writer, Chimamanda Adichie Excited As She Dines With Oprah Winfrey In London. Photos