in , ,

The Glory Of The Presidential Villa “Aso Rock”

The Aso Rock Presidential Villa is the work station and official residence of the president of Nigeria since 1992 , same year Nigeria moved its capital from Lagos to Abuja till date. It is located at Yakubu  Gowon Crescent, The Three Arms Zone, Asokoro, Abuja, FCT, Nigeria. The Villa is one of the most protected houses in the country.

Aso Villa encompasses the 400 meter monolith Aso Rock, located within the Three Arms Zone of Abuja metropolis. In 1976 the Military Government of Murtala Mohammed took the decision to relocate the Federal Capital from Lagos by a committee under the leadership of Justice Akinola Aguda which recommended the creation of a Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in the center of the country and its proclamation to this effect was issued on February 3, 1976.

Akinola Aguda House (formally named on October 1, 1983) was originally conceived as a Presidential Lodge & Guest House Complex and hosted the first ever formal Cabinet Meeting held outside Lagos, only days after Abuja hosted Nigeria’s Independence Anniversary celebrations for the first time, in October 1982. President Ibrahim Babangida, who took office in 1985, commenced construction of a new Presidential residence and in 1991 the Aso Rock Presidential Villa was completed and President Babangida became the first Head of State to occupy it, in on December 12, 1991. Upon completion of the Aso Rock Presidential Villa the Aguda House became the Vice Presidential Complex, and has remained so till date — apart from the period between 1999 and 2007 when the Vice President lived in a Residence that has since been transferred to the Judiciary as Official Quarters for the Chief Justice of Nigeria.

In 2010, construction of a new Vice Presidential Residence commenced. The Residence is yet to be completed, the Buhari administration has said it is not a priority. Today the Presidential Complex, located in the Three Arms Zone of the Federal Capital Territory, consists of the Main Presidential Villa (Office and Residence of the President, and Offices of the Vice President and Wife of the President), the State House Conference Center, State House Annexe, and the Akinola Aguda House. The old Presidential Lodge in Marina, Lagos, was handed over to the Lagos State Government in 2017.


What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by PH


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.





June 12 And Question Of Buhari’s Motive By Azu Ishiekwene

British American Tobacco Nigeria Foundation to invest N700,000,000 to Support Agric Entrepreneurs