Peseiro Names Super Eagles Final AFCON Squad

The final 25 players in the Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro’s team for the upcoming African Cup of Nations in Cote d’Ivoire have been announced.

The African football showpiece will run from January 13 to February 11, 2024.

The Nigerian squad, hunting for its fourth title, have been drawn in Group A alongside hosts Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea Bissau.

The Portuguese manager had in previous December presented a 40-man preliminary team, including three goal-keepers from the local league.

But in the end, Peseiro on Friday picked Chippa United goalkeeper Stanley Nwabili, captain Ahmed Musa, and African Footballer of the Year Victor Osimhen.

Nwabili, the sole player in the squad who is based at home, is joined by Francis Uzoho, the team’s longtime first choice, and Leke Ojo, the goalkeeper for Enyimba FC, who was brought in to help with the goalkeeping dilemma.


Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany).

Guinness World Record for Longest Cooking Marathon Broken Again

FG Lists 20 New Motor Parks for 50% Transport Fares Cut