Troost-Ekong, Lookman, Aina Make AFCON Team Of The Tournament

Nigeria’s defender #5 William Troost-Ekong (C) celebrates after the victory at the end of the Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) 2024 quarter-final football match between Nigeria and Angola at the Felix Houphouet-Boigny Stadium in Abidjan on February 2, 2024. (Photo by Issouf SANOGO / AFP)

On Wednesday, CAF nominated Nigeria’s William Troost-Ekong, Ademola Lookman, and Ola Aina to the just finished AFCON 2023 Team of the Tournament.

On his part, Ekong, who also got an individual award for Man of the Tournament, was undoubtedly Nigeria’s greatest player, thanks to his strong leadership qualities both on and off the pitch, as well as a superb defensive performance that propelled the Super Eagles to the final.

Lookman was as impressive during the tournament, scoring key goals against Cameroon and South Africa, as was Aina, a mainstay on the right side of the defence.

Victor Osimhen, the African Footballer of the Year, did not make the team.

Franck Kessie, Jean Michael Seri in midfield, and Ghislain Konan in left-back were among those named to the squad.

Emilos Nsua, the tournament’s top goalscorer, leads the assault, with DR Congo’s Yoane Wissa rounding out the frontline.

Ronwen Williams of Mamelodi Sundowns, a South African Premiership team, is in goal, having received prominence for his heroics during the penalty shootout against Cape Verde.

Emerse Fae, an Ivorian, leads the team that succeeded Jean-Louis Gasset.

Governor Fubara Promises To Immortalise Wigwe, Support His University

Anti-Doping Agency Refers Nigeria, Venezuela To Sports Arbitration Court