These Are The 36 States In Nigeria And Their Slogan

Nigeria is a federal republic composed of 36 states and one federal capital territory. Each of the 36 states is a semi-autonomous political unit, also known as a federating unit, that shares powers with the Federal Government as outlined in the Federal Republic of Nigeria’s Constitution. The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) is Nigeria’s capital territory, and the capital city of Abuja is located within it.

The FCT is not a state, but it is administered by elected officials who are overseen by the Federal Government, with an FCT supervising minister serving as the coordinator. Local Government Areas are subdivided into each state (LGAs). In Nigeria, there are 774 local governments. The 36 states are co-equal but not supreme under the Constitution because sovereignty is reserved for the Federal Government.

It is also well known that each state in the federation has its own unique characteristics and competitive advantages that set it apart from others. Aspects such as agriculture, culture, tradition, minerals, and natural resources lend credence to each state’s slogan.

Nigeria became a federal state in 1960, with three regions: Northern, Western, and Eastern. Furthermore, provinces that were left over from colonial and protectorate times remained in existence until 1976, when they were abolished. The Mid-Western Region was formed from the Western Region in 1963. By military decree in 1967, the regions were replaced by 12 states. During the Nigerian civil war, the Eastern Region attempted to secede as a nation called Biafra from 1967 to 1970. Seven new states were formed in 1976, bringing the total to 19.


In 1991, the Federal Capital Territory was established. Two new states were established in 1987, followed by nine more in 1991, bringing the total to 30. The most recent change occurred in 1996, resulting in the current number of 36 states.


State Capital Slogan
1. Abia Umahia God’s Own State
2. Adamawa Yola Land of Beauty
3. Akwa Ibom Uyo Land of Promise
4. Anambra Awka Light of the Nation
5. Bauchi Bauchi Pearl of Tourism
6. Bayelsa Yenagoa Glory of all lands
7. Benue Makurdi Food Basket of the Nation
8. Borno Maiduguri Home of Peace
9. Cross River Calabar The People’s Paradise
10. Delta Asaba The Big Heart Ifeanyi Okowa
11. Ebonyi Abakaliki Salt of the Nation
12. Edo Benin City Heart Beat of Nigeria
13. Ekiti Ado – Ekiti Land of Honour and Integrity
14. Enugu Enugu Coal City State
15. Gombe Gombe Jewel in the Savannah
16. Imo Owerri Eastern Heartland
17. Jigawa Dutse The New World
18. Kaduna Kaduna Centre of Learning
19. Kano Kano Centre of Commerce
20. Katsina Katsina Home of Hospitality
21. Kebbi Birnin Kebbi Land of Equity
23. Kwara Ilorin State of Harmony
24. Lagos Ikeja Centre of Excellence
25. Nasarawa Lafia Home of Solid Minerals
26. Niger Minna The Power State
27. Ogun Abeokuta Gateway State
28. Ondo Akure The Sunshine State
29. Osun Oshogbo Land of Virtue
30 Oyo Ibadan PaceSetter State
31. Plateau Jos Home of Peace and Tourism
32. Rivers Port Harcourt Treasure Base of the Nation
33. Sokoto Sokoto Seat of the Caliphate
34. Taraba Jalingo Nature’s Gift to the Nation
35. Yobe Damaturu Pride of the Sahel
36. Zamfara Gusau Farming is Our Pride


Written by PH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Applications Open For 6th Edition Of AFD Digital Challenge

Lilian Dinma: This Nigerian-Born Gospel Artiste Is Making Waves Overseas